Is trickery a good trait?

What is the Catholic view on trickery or craftiness? Aren’t they intelligence?

Intelligence is a gift of God.
If we pervert it’s use we commit grave sin, and if we use it to make a simpler fellow man stumble we are committing a very grave sin. Jesus and the Apostles warned us of this.

That does not mean that we cannot use our God given intelligence to further our status in life, as long as we did not trample over other fellow men/women in order to do so.
We should strive to use it to further us in our “real” life. When we will have to give account for what we did while here on earth.

I remember a little of a bible passage, where there are Hebrew spies which covered up by a non Hebrew woman and it’s credited as righteousness according to the new testament. It’s spying and covering up a spy seemed to be considered good but I always thought trickery is usually bad.

When I was young I was a very smart lawyer. If anyone did me a disservice, I would get even in any cunning way possible. What a failure of a human being I was. Now I try to use what natural intelligence God gave me for His work. I found humility the hardest virtue, because I was naturally superior… You see? Now I take the advice of the drunk hero of the film Harvey and am extremely pleasant and willing to please. I hope I will become a man Christ will recognise as His on the last day. Cunning is the ability to cheat relying on someone else’s
simplicity. It is a gave sin by definition.