Is watching Will & Grace a sin?

I find it entertaining at least, and I do enjoy watching it, is it a bad thing that gay humour amuses me?

Thanks, God Bless, Aaron.

I can’t wait to see some of the responses to this. I love the show and I do not think it is a sin. That is ridiculous to me. Enjoy it!

When I was in college, I heard a man who had left the gay lifestyle speak. He said that he had loved watching “Will and Grace,” but that when he realized God’s plans for him and knew he needed to live chastely, he no longer enjoyed the show. He said that what he saw was no longer funny; it was sad. He knew the pain he had experienced as a gay man and understood the search for fulfillment that he could not find in that lifestyle – fulfillment that can only come from God.

As a college student, I watched “Will and Grace” weekly. Since that man’s witness, I have never been able to stomach it. I am not saying that it is a sin to watch the show, but I, personally, will never watch it again.

It is a sin.

Your profile doesn’t indicate if you are of any particular faith so why don’t we start with why you’d ask such a question?

I mean, why does it matter to you if it’s a sin or not? Knowing the answer to this will help us respond accordingly.

It would also help us to know what you know about ‘sin’ so far…what is your definition/understanding of sin?

What a shame.

It is a comedy show. It is not a sin to watch it.

It depends on the individual I would imagine whether watching this (or any other programs of various types, listening to particular music, reading particular books/magazines, looking at particular ‘art’) is objectively sinful-- but that doesn’t mean we should act as if this is ONLY a problem for those who find it so.