Isa, Jesus, Mary, Miriam, and Linguistics...

I posted this (more or less) on another thread, and received a very unsatisfying answer (which I’ll post). As I am not a linguistics expert, I am open to correction. The following, however, is what I have learned and what I propose for discussion:

What is Jesus’ name?

In Hebrew, it would be Yeshua (with the glutteral stop at the end - Yesh-UA). In the Qur’an, He’s called Isa (with the glutteral stop at the beginning - EEsau). In doing this, they draw a mistaken and quite horrible parallel with Esau (from Jacob and Esau). As there are NO other Esaus in the bible, it is clear that this is a mistake made by the author and NOT an alternate spelling of a “common” name.

Definite assertion: Jesus was not named “Esau”. Esau was the enemy of “Jacob”, a patriarck of the Jews who would be renamed “Israel”. Esau is the enemy of Israel. Would any patriotic and loyal American now name his child “Osama Bin Laden Smith” or “Saddam Husein Jenkins”? Not a chance. It is illogical and without basis for a parent to name their child after their sworn enemy. There are several James in the Bible, a couple of Marys, and even a few Joshuas - but there’s only one Esau. It would be like me naming my child LuciferL. It just wouldn’t happen.

The problem would appear to arise from either an un-discipled christian telling Muhammad what we believe or it may also have been that Jews were saying Jesus’ name was Esau in order to link Him to one accursed by Judaism. I found the following in a biography of Muhammad, which would lend credibility to this theory: