Issue with relationships

I am 19, I am in first year university, should I start ‘dating’ around? Or am I still a bit too young and actually wait a few more years.

I will not date non-catholics, I have read too many issues of catholics marrying people of other faiths and denominations and they have a heap of problems. And it’s the same for the people of other faiths marrying a catholic, conflicting beliefs.

Of course you should. I am 18 (almost 19) and I’m on the second year of University, and I have found, for the first time on my life, a woman that seems to have all the qualities to be my wife and mother of my children. I will have to know her better during 2 more years, and if things go as I expect, I could ask her hand after graduating (which will happen in 2009).

So… yes, it’s actually a good time to start dating. If you find a suitable girl, you’ll have the right ammount of time to know her better, and, if things go right, to marry once your degree is done.

Thanks for the response dude.

Well, it really depends upon what you mean by “dating around”. Dating, to some, is a sport-- an end in intself. “Dating” is a relatively new invention of the 20th century. Some people date just to date. Girls too, remember that.

Now, if you mean “look for a spouse” then yes. If you are ready to look for a spouse, then begin to look at women with interest and get to know them. At 19, are you ready to do that? I think it depends upon how long you have left in college, if you need to do any professional interning after college, establish yourself in a job, etc.

I suggest you get a couple of books on Courtship-- that is different from “dating”. There are several books, just google “christian courtship”. I read “I Kissed Dating Goodbye” which was very good, and there is also “Christian Courtship in an Oversexed World” I have seen recommended on here.