Ivy League economist ethnically profiled, interrogated for doing math on American Airlines flight

Now we can’t do math on a plane, it looks too much like Arabic:

washingtonpost.com/news/rampage/wp/2016/05/07/ivy-league-economist-interrogated-for-doing-math-on-american-airlines-flight/

This is the state of our educational system that math symbols look very foreign and terrifying.

I never do math on planes: it’s too dangerous. An Ivy League professor should know better.

:mad: Really?! This is what you take from this story? “Oh look, here’s another opportunity to bash the school system again.”

As a public school teacher, I cringe whenever any of my little charges express a desire to be a teacher when they grow up. I would never wish the kind of bashing we experience on anyone.

As a Catholic, I offer it up and carry on offering my life’s time, talent, and treasure for the awesome and fearful task of educating God’s little ones.

You actually did an excellent job, however, of demonstrating the point of this story – profiling. You quickly use this story as evidence to defend a calumnious statement about those who devote their life’s work to the field of education. Way to profile!

:mad:

Great. Now I have to try to get my heart back in order to go to mass.

Pooh. :bighanky:

Fine. I’ll pray for you at mass…

Especially when doing partial differential equations. The div, grad and curl symbols look very suspicious.

:slight_smile:

And, I never drink and derive.:smiley:

Take heart.

:hug1:

For every detractor there are students or former students like me who acknowledge the influence good teachers have had in their life.

If differential equations can get you in trouble, calculus would be even worse.

Insert your own *Weapons Of Math Instruction *joke here.

:stuck_out_tongue:
tee

Well I think its common knowledge people are initially frightened of things they dont understand…History has proven this time and time again.