Jehovah's Witnesses and the antichrist

I had a friend who was a devout Jehovah’s Witness that claimed in no uncertain terms that the U.N. was the antichrist. Is this true and is it still their position?

Not sure about the term antiChrist. It’s been many years since I was a JW but as I recall the United Nations was considered an evil tool of Satan, as was the Catholic Church and also all forms of politics. Pray for your friend. He/she is a lost soul. :frowning:

I am not that sure about the Jehovah Witnesses, but the Seventh Day Adventists whom they share a lot of doctrines with (Jesus is the same person as the Archangel Micheal, soul sleep, a huge emphasis on the parousia, with dates even being set for it), makes no bones about calling our church (the RCC) the Antichrist, Whore of Babylon, the beast.

I imagine the JWs also say the same about us.

Please correct me if i’m wrong, i’m still learning. I thought ANY person or organization that was directly apposed to Christ, either in word or deed, was considered the anti-christ.

The JWs teach that the UN is the digusting thing that causes desolation in Matthew 24 and that it is the wild beast being ridden by the Harlot in the book of Revelation.

For them, the anti-christ is not necessarily a person but mostly a group of people, specifically all of the clergy in the different denominations of Christendom. Of course, the primary members of this are the Catholic clergy.

Recently, there was quite the scandal when the JWs’ Bible Society registered with the UN as a Non-Gov’t Organization. It seems that when a group registers as a NGO with the UN they have to say that they agree with the goals of the UN. Some JWs found out about this and an article in The Guardian of the UK made this known world wide.