Jesus' capital balance

The New Testament tells us little or nothing about the youth and early adulthood years of Jesus. Since we know that St. Joseph was a carpenter by profession, it is logical to assume that the boy Jesus got skilled in the same trade. When St. Joseph passed on, it would have been logical for his son to carry on the family business.

It is therefore likely that by the time he started his public ministry around the age of 30, Jesus would have accumulated sufficient capital to maintain his mother and himself. That is probably why we do not come across him as being stressed for funds at any point of time.

Does anybody have any thoughts on this?

Paul likewise, carried on his tentmaker trade parallely with his ministry in the initial years, so as not to put a burden on the community as well as to set a good example.

Wherever the funds came from, Jesus and his group were well enough off that they had a treasurer.

Yes, I would agree with you.

While the current Church, in its otherwise commendable effort to empathize with the poor, has at times overstated the supposed poverty of our LORD, it is likely that He was no poorer than was the norm for that place and time; outside the governing classes, almost everybody was poor by our measures.

Remember, He wore a seamless robe to Calvary. Such would have been better than average.

ICXC NIKA

Two things.

(1) Back in those days, it was actually common for the extended family to live together (still is today in a number of cultures). We commonly picture Jesus living with Mary and Joseph only, but it’s also likely that some uncles and aunts and their kids lived with them. Scripture does mention Jesus’ “brothers and sisters” being in Nazareth with Mary. They could have continued to support the (extended) family even after Jesus went off to do His thing.