Jesus siblings were step siblings?

This is my first time back to this forum in a number of years.

The last time I was here we had some great discussions, and on one occasion was given a link to a members personal website (I think) which had information about how Jesus’ brothers and sisters were actually his step relatives.

This has been on my mind for a very long time and I’m hoping to find some more information about it if anyone can help please.

Thank you.

The words used in the Bible for Jesus’ “brothers and sisters” actually meant “relative”.
They could have been cousins, nieces, nephews… whatever. St. Joseph and St. Mary were celibate and had no children together.

There are lots of theories about this and some traditions from early Christian writings. Here are a couple of the possibilities.

There are some who think that Jesus’ ‘siblings’ might be children from a previous marriage of Joseph.

I have also heard it suggested (and this seems more likely to me) that the ‘siblings’ might be the children of Joseph’s brother. Since Joseph doesn’t appear in the Gospels after Jesus begins his public ministry it seems he was probably deceased. If his death occurred prior to Jesus reaching adulthood it would have fallen to a male relative of Joseph to take in Mary and Jesus. Jesus would have been raised with his step-cousins and they would have been treated as and referred to as siblings.

St. Joseph and Blessed Virgin Mary were perpetually continent, not celibate.

I saw that theory put forth before, I think in one of Lee Strobel’s books, the theory being that Joseph had children prior to his marriage to Mary and that he was a widower. I don’t think that conflicts with Church teaching, as I believe Traditions holds that Joseph was considerably older than Mary. He had passed away some time between when Jesus was 12 and when he was 33.

Thank you all for your responses.

I wonder why this topic just came up into my head?