Jewish Dietary Laws-The Eucharist (From Someone in RCIA)

If Jews were prohibited to eat blood (thats what I’ve heard anyway), how come the apostles accepted the Eucharist so easily at the last supper? Just to let you all know : I do believe in the Real Presence, and am in RCIA (So I’m still learning)-sorry if this is offensive in any way, but this is one of my last couple of obstacles to entering the Church

They didn’t accept it easily. Look at John 6 and the reactions of the various people. Look at the accounts of the Last Supper in the Gospels, and how the disciples still didn’t really understand what was going on. In the 40 days after Jesus rose again, he spent a lot of time talking to his disciples, and “breaking bread” with them, and explaining what had happened. And then, at Pentecost, the Holy Spirit came on them and made more things clear. And still, even after that, we see them struggling with things including the doing away of the dietary laws.

So, they didn’t accept it easily. But they did accept it.

Ok that makes better sense all put together

:slight_smile: Merry Christmas! Keep struggling on and asking sincere questions: there’s nothing disrespectful about that.

Merry Christmas to you too! And yes I’m working on it.

I would say the early Jesus movement or the early Jewish Christian communities would find our current dogma on the Eucharist foreign to them. It took hundred of years for the Church to come to clarity on the mystery of the Supper of the Lord and even then human words are limited. To this day the Eastern and Latin Churches have different teachings on when the elements of bread and wine are transformed into the Body and Blood of the Lord. After the Council the theological emphasis was less on when the transformation happened to the bread and wine and was placed on the assembly through the Lord’s meal becoming the body of Christ through communion.