Jihad & Inquisition similar? Are Inquisitions practiced today?

Hi,

I am debating my Muslim friend on the evil Islamic ideologies, namely Jihad. I am new in this debate and keep hearing about the inquisitions. Is the Catholic Church teaching on the Inquisition similar to Jihad and can the scripture below (or others?) be used to justify the inquisitions?

Are the Inquisitions practiced today?

Paul, too, exhorted right judgment of other Christians: "For what have I to do with judging outsiders? Is it not those inside the church whom you are to judge? God judges those outside. Drive out the wicked person from among you" (1 Cor. 5:12-13)

God Bless You!

There's a pretty good tract on that:

catholic.com/tracts/the-inquisition

[quote="sousley, post:2, topic:324779"]
There's a pretty good tract on that:

catholic.com/tracts/the-inquisition

[/quote]

I browsed it, but I don't think it answered my questions.

I brought up Surah 2:193 - Fight them until there is no [more] fitnah and [until] worship is [acknowledged to be] for Allah . But if they cease, then there is to be no aggression except against the oppressors. - quran.com/2/193

Seems like what he says is similar to the inquisitions? What is the difference? I heard the inquisitions were held for those pretending to be Catholics for beneficial purpose, but not living out their faith (WHICH SEEMS TO BE THE CASE ALL OVER THE WORLD TODAY! NOT SURE OF THE DIFFERENCE BACK THEN). I need more education about these things.