Job frustrations - Help!

Hi All,

I don’t know if this is the correct forum, but I need some advice. I worked at a company for 15 years. I gained lots of good experience during that time. Unfortunately, the company changed my job and told me that I needed to go on the road and do sales for the company. I had 2 preschool kids and I could not do that.

So I left that company and started all over… and I mean literally started over. I took a job in assembly and now have worked my way into a nice office position and I finished my bachelor degree. I am a single parent trying to better myself because while my job is nice I need more money to run my household. I have been with my new employer for 8-1/2 years.

My problem is that now people tell me that they are looking for candidates with “recent” experience. I have the experience and they can see that - but my experience was from my previous employer.

Any suggestions on how I can counter that we need “recent experience” thought?

Please let me know

Thanks

Terri

**Can you do the job? Or do you need to update your skills?

If you know you can do the job, sell that in your interviews! Tell them to give you a chance to prove it. I think, aside from a good resume, employers like to see confidence…

If you can’t do the job and would benefit from an upgrade in your skills, try to do that and then find a job in your field…

I don’t know anything though so:shrug:, lol

Malia**

Did they give any feedback at to why they need “recent” experience. I thought experience was experience. Unless of course the field is one that is constantly updating and being out of it for several years may affect what you know. Certain technology fields come to mind where new forms of that particular technology have come about or been replaced and one may not be familiar with it if they have not been working with it. Just an example though. Did they say specifically what you are lacking due to the gap from your previous experience?