Job-related morality

Sorry I couldn’t think of a good title. I work as a delivery driver for a local florist in the Dallas area. Tomorrow, one of my deliveries is for a funeral at a well-known Protestant homosexual church in downtown Dallas (Cathedral of Hope). I can’t exactly opt out of taking deliveries to certain locations (unless it’s a high crime area after dark). Am I morally bound to refuse to take this delivery? I don’t want to show that I condone the homosexual lifestyle.

How does delivering flowers say you condone a “homosexual lifestyle”?

No, you are delivering a product to a funeral home. You didn’t create the order or participate in the service.

It’s your job. Deliver the flowers and leave.

It’s a funeral. Sending/delivering flowers to a funeral in no way violates any teaching of the Church, nor does it necessarily have anything to do with condoning anything. Dead people, regardless of sexual orientation, can and should receive flowers at their passing. Secondly, it’s your job and most people can’t afford to leave their job, jeopardizing their legitimate responsibilities and obligations on the turn of a dime like that. Thirdly, if you are concerned about delivering flowers to celebrate a SS marriage or surrogacy parenting, it would be something to pray over and discern, followed by a time period where you weigh your options, continue to meet your obligations and try to find alternate and equal employment. JMO

You’re helping to honour the dead and bring comfort to bereaved people. The fact that Protestantism and homosexuality are involved is beside the point. If you work for a florist you will probably deliver flowers for all sorts of people and occasions. For example, you will probably at some point deliver flowers to or for somebody having an extramarital affair. That is not your problem any more than it is the bus driver’s problem if one of his passengers commits a sin when he reaches his destination.

There’s no way this is a serious thread.