Joel Osteen/Prosperity Gospel

I need some apologetics help, and I’m hoping that I can get some assistance from the forum. For reference, I’m currently going through RCIA, and I’ve been doing a lot of reading, but I’m not entirely knowledgeable about Catholicism yet.

My boyfriend was raised Catholic, but based on some discussions with him recently, I’m not sure how well he learned the catechism. He’s been involved in some protestant Bible study groups, and through that, has become a huge, huge fan of Joel Osteen. He keeps talking about some of the things he preaches, and I’m having a hard time articulating to him why I’m uncomfortable with Osteen and think he’s incompatible with Catholicism. I’ve tried explaining why the whole prosperity gospel idea is wrong, but I think I’m not really communicating things well because I’m still learning.

So, if anyone could help me put together a more coherent statement about why Osteen’s preaching, particularly about the prosperity gospel, is wrong and is contrary to Catholic beliefs, I’d really appreciate it. Right now, I’m struggling to articulate it, but I know in my gut what he’s saying is wrong. I just can’t figure out how to argue it.

0, 1 & 2.

Are the Bible & your brain not enough?

First of all…everyone has been searching. Joel Osteen is one awesome “preacher” and charismatic person.

The part I do not agree with - is that his philosophy takes God out of the question.

None of us on this earth know the whole of our lives and God wants us with him for eternity. If our desire is to gain heaven… Than every moment is ordained to that desire…whether it be poverty, illness, tragic circumstances.

We all must have total faith that EVERYTHING - no matter how awful can be “blessed” if we are willing to be faithful.

Please know I am not saying God brings awful circumstances to people…He allows and permits it. Would any parent do less if it meant the eternal “happiness” for their child.