Johannine Community

When I read books, sometimes the term “Johannine community” arises and it has just come up again today in a book I have just started reading. My problem is that I have read a lot of historical writings and there is no concept of this “Johannine community” anywhere that I am aware of, so I have no reason to believe otherwise that this community is just a modern invention, with an invented romantised origin, and invented romantised “community”.

The name Raymond Brown keeps getting referenced in notes. Does anyone know when this “Johannine community” started appearing? Who invented this community? Because it doesn’t seem to be historically validated.

Raymond E. Brown is a Catholic priest who uses the historical-critical method of biblical interpretation to investigate the early Church communities. His book on the topic can be found here: goodreads.com/book/show/16018.The_Community_of_the_Beloved_Disciple.

I have little knowledge of his ideas or the accuracy of his ideas regarding a supposed Johannine Community. I rather think that the topic is probably beyond most laymen’s ability to determine what is history and what is his interpretation of events/people/doctrine. So, I think that unless one is firmly grounded in their faith it might be unwise to delve into this man’s ideas. Maybe others will have more knowledge about Brown and the topic, but after looking at the reviews of his book, I’d be wary of accepting his ideas without having much greater knowledge about it.

For example

John ending his life either on Patmos or Ephesus

Two ECF’s in that Eastern area of the map, were direct disciples of John.

Bp Ignatius of Antioch
Bp Polycarp of Smyrna

I’m sure they could fit in with the description of
“Johannine community”