John 6 and Calvinism

I listened to a 4-part radio debate that James White had with Michael Brown on Calvinism (before I was on this forum, so I’m going on memory here), and John 6:35-45 was one of the three big texts that White brought forth for Dr. Brown to exegete (the others being Rom 8-9 and Eph 1, which I could and might make other threads on.):
[BIBLEDRB]John 6:35-45[/BIBLEDRB]
The two verses that White argues from the most are verses 37 and 44; on verse 37, he argues that the Father chooses whom to give to Christ and whom not to, and that Christ’s saying that those who come to Him will be “by no means cast out” by Him doesn’t make any sense if they can fall away. On verse 44, White argues that the aforementioned free choice that the Father makes is the only way that one can come to Christ, and says that “and I will raise him on the last day” refers to those drawn by the Father (I’m not an expert on Greek grammar, so I don’t know whether that’s true or not) such that if the Father draws everyone to Christ, universalism follows, and if the Father draws some people to Christ, Calvinism follows.
So, how would you respond to him?

Why couldnt someone fall away? If one draws to Christ he will not be cast out. The text does not seem to prohibit one who draws toward or away at different points. And of course there is an abundance of other Scripture describing exactly that.

I dont follow the universalism argument. Coukd you expound the supposed logical sequence?

He doesn’t use a formal argument, but this is, I hope, a good representation of his argument.
Premise 1: Christ will raise up all whom the Father draws on the last day.
Premise 2: No one can come to Christ unless the Father draws him.
Conclusion 1: Therefore, someone will be raised up on the last day if and only if the Father draws him.
Premise 3: Universalism is false.
Conslusion 2: Therefore, Calvinism is true.