Joint Declaration on the Doctrine of Justification

I am studying the Joint Declaration on the Doctrine of Justification, and from reading it, it appears that the RCC and Lutheran churches present rescinded the condemnations of each other (paragraph 41 in particular). Does that mean that the Unaltered Augsburg Confession is acceptable, or at least endurable, to the Roman Catholic Church?

Interesting question. I hope someone knowledgeable will weigh in.

You should probably read the Augsburg Confession in conjunction with the *Confutation Pontificia *(the Catholic response to the AC) and the *Apology *(or Defense) of the Augsburg Confession which was the Lutheran response to the Confutatio. That will give you some idea of the areas in which there was (and, in some cases, remain) divergences on theology and doctrine.

The JDDJ addresses only some of the issues found in the AC and subsequent documents, but you’ll see how some of the issues were first addressed between the Lutherans and the Catholics and what has or hasn’t changed.

The documents are all available online – just Google to find them.

The Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod didn’t accept JDDJ. This is there reasons:
Joint Declaration on the Doctrine of Justification

Q. I would like to understand the main problem your church body has with the Joint Declaration on the Doctrine of Justification (signed October 31 by representatives of the Lutheran World Federation and the Roman Catholic Church). Is it the fact that it implies that we are saved as a result of both faith and works?