Judging Cults

Hi, my mom and I were talking with my protestant grandparents and we were saying Mormonism is a cult (which it is) then she said, well it isn’t for us to judge. Any defenses for this? How do we know Mormonism is a cult and how is it for us to judge? Thanks!

I’m not technically sure because I thought a cult can mean just a starting religion that isnt over 100 years old. However, there is a degree of indoctrination that can be cultish in the new sense of the word.

I think your grandparents were using the phrase not to say we aren’t sure if they are a cult, but that we shouldn’t criticize or say something is wrong because that is judging and Jesus told us not to judge. That is just silly. We are to say that an idea or an action is wrong, but we shouldn’t go around saying that everyone is going to Hell.

It depends on the definition of “cult.”

Some Christians regard a “cult” as something which claims to have a Christian foundation but is radically different from any other Christian group. By this definition the LDS (and the JWs) are certainly a “cult.”

Others (including me) define “cult” as a group which is centered around a particular individual (David Koresh, Jim Jones, etc). It could hardly be said that the Mormons are centered around Joseph Smith - the modern (mainline) Mormon Church scarcely resembles the church of Smith. One might argue that it is more centered around Brigham Young, but it is a weak case.

I’ve been to Scouting meetings held in Mormon halls and schools - there is much religious artwork depicting scenes from the Book of Mormon, but I have yet to see any deception of Smith or Young. They do not qualify as a “cult” by my preferred definition.