Just Go Away!

Okay, I realize that I can’t just go crawl under a rock and my main problem is that I am not making myself clear w/ others in setting my boundaries . . .but what do I do?

If you have read any of my posts, you know that I have a co-worker who has really worked my last nerve. This week, I have been able to excuse myself from going to break and lunch w/ her and not responding to her emails by simply saying that I came in late and need to make up my time and I am very busy w/ end-of-the-month work - this I tell her when she comes to ‘check up’ on me. I feel like she’s taking roll call!

I have a certain degree of guilt w/ her as well as some other well-meaning co-workers when I consider how ‘aloof’ I am, but quite frankly, I wish I could just be invisible right now. I am pregnant and have been cranky pretty much 24/7 for the last couple of months and cheery people at work just really drive me nuts! There is the ‘office granny’ who is the nicest sweetest older lady you could ever meet, but she greets me every d**n time I walk by her desk! And there’s a number of other co-workers who I simply do not even acknowlege when they come to my desk to pick stuff up off my printer - I usually put my earphones in and pretend not to hear them.

Right now, I don’t want anyone to look at me or talk to me! I realize that maybe people are overly ‘nice’ to me b/c I look so glum, but I would just rather they ignore me! I have taken to walking around the long way on my many potty breaks b/c the usual way takes me right past this girls’ desk and she is constantly turning around and either giving a ‘poor me’ look b/c I haven’t been corresponding w/ her, or she wants to flag me over to talk every time I walk by.

I feel like I am on sensory overload! Maybe I am just really out of whack b/c everyday courtesy and ‘niceties’ just seem like a bother to me! What is my problem?!