Just War and the Gospel

Hello, all! I’m Marcus.

Let me give you a bit of a background on myself, to flesh out the significance of this issue to me. I’m a Navy veteran. I joined in 2004 and left the Navy in 2009. I participated in some morally questionable missions, and did things and thought things which I’m very ashamed of. At that time, I was an atheist, and these experiences had a hand in shattering the faith I had in the “gods” I’d replaced God with at the time: freedom, justice, honor, money, myself, the United States - these were all my idols, my ultimate concerns which replaced God at the time.

I went through a very rough transition when I got out. At first, I turned to a kind of radical political activism and focused on the liberation oppressed people. It was all empty. None of it satisfied me, and the freedom I was looking for for myself and others wasn’t there. After I burnt out from that, I started praying to God, and the only things that have satisfied me in ways nothing else has has been Jesus Christ and loving others.