Just wondering about consequences

The topic of mandatory celibacy and priests comes up often. So I was wondering what the spiritual consequences are for the man who chooses to leave and the woman who lets him do that. The stories that I have read indicate that they often have a tough time on many levels. I wonder why that isn’t more of a deterrant.

[quote=wacky&wonderful]The topic of mandatory celibacy and priests comes up often. So I was wondering what the spiritual consequences are for the man who chooses to leave and the woman who lets him do that. The stories that I have read indicate that they often have a tough time on many levels. I wonder why that isn’t more of a deterrant.
[/quote]

I am not a big expert on this, however I would say that it is not more of a detterant for the same reason that penalties for stealing aren’t more of a deterrant, and that the clear statistics about how abortion messes up women isn’t more of a deterrant. Firstly, many don’t realize these things. Mostly, however, is concupiscience and the nature of sin. Sin is in and of itself a rejection of what is known to be good for what is known to be bad. When a person is going to depart from good to choose bad, they are already making an irrational decision, a decision in which they think they know better in some way. It’s not a detterant because people are by the nature of sin shunning the better in favor of the worse.

Could you restate your question? I don’t think I followed what you meant.

[quote=PioMagnus]Could you restate your question? I don’t think I followed what you meant.
[/quote]

There are consequences to every action. The church says no to optional celibacy. So what happens if a priest leaves because he cannot accept that? What are the spiritual consequences to that decision? Any or none? I know that there are many practical negative consequences and that alone should be a deterrant, but it doesn’t appear to be.