Killing vs Allowing death

I’m a high-school teacher (public school) and my students who take sociology sometimes pose questions to me from what they heard in class. I want to give a Catholic answer. Is there a clear Catholic answer or is the theology still developing?

Scenario 1: A train is barreling down a track about to kill 20 people and you have the choice to redirect the train to another track which contains only 1 person.

Scenario 2: A train is barreling down a track about to kill 20 people. You can stop/derail the train by actively pushing 1 person in front of the train to save the 20.

Scenario 3: Someone is going to kill your family of five if you do not kill one person (varying levels of social significance from a criminal to a world leader).

Scenario 4: National security is on the line and an individual with the power to stop a catastrophic event is unwilling. What is allowed to coerce him/her into stopping the event? Is there a difference between actively hurting and depriving the person of food/water/shelter/interaction?

PS: I’m sure I’m not the first person to pose these questions. Links to other forums or articles are welcome. Of course, CCC references are awesome.

You cannot do any of those things.

I would suggest you review the entire section of the Catechism on The Morality of Human Acts.

Part 3, Section 1, Chapter 1, Article 4.

Here are a couple of paragraphs to the point from this section’s summary:

1757 The object, the intention, and the circumstances make up the three “sources” of the morality of human acts.

1758 The object chosen morally specifies the act of willing accordingly as reason recognizes and judges it good or evil.

1759 “An evil action cannot be justified by reference to a good intention” (cf St. Thomas Aquinas, Dec. praec. 6). the end does not justify the means.

1760 A morally good act requires the goodness of its object, of its end, and of its circumstances together.