Knowing you will make it to Heaven

I am a freshman in college and a non-denominational Protestant group of guys live in the dorm below me. They tell me about how they know they will make it to Heaven based off of the verse 1 John 5:13, “I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life.”

I know they are wrong with this belief and that it’s horribly out of context, but does anyone have a list of verses that contradict the notion that one can “know” they are going to Heaven? I tell them that essentially they are judging themselves, but they disagree. I have told them about the errors of Sola Scriptura, which they strictly follow. They are strong opposers of the Church and its teaching, so all I am looking for are Bible verses.

Thank you in advance.

Hebrews 3:12-13

2 Peter 3:17

There are many more though

Philippians 2:12 (Work out your salvation with fear and trembling)
Matthew 7:13-14 (Choose the narrow gate)

You may find www.scripturecatholic.com/justification.html and scripturecatholic.com/salvation.html useful (particularly the second section of the second link). That site also has scripture references for other issues as well. I tend to disagree with some of his conclusions (especially in the science area), but it is a useful resource in any case.

Where Is That In the Bible: Can Christians Lose Their Salvation? by Patrick Madrid
youtube.com/watch?v=ebzAnYhYnBw

Matt 7 24, Everyone who listens to these words of mine AND ACTS ON THEM will be like a wise man who built his house on rock …

The point here is we need to act on what the bible says. While we all think we do, merely not breaking any criminal law is not enough.

You can ask them why they think they are believers and then show them how they are not what Jesus tells us a believer is.