Large chunks missing from Mass

Good morning, and the peace of Christ be with each of you. I am not very knowledgeable in the essential components of the Mass, but after yesterday’s Mass, I have some specific questions about what must be included, and what is optional.

Our postor conducted the Mass. There is no Act of Contrition prayer (“I confess to Almighty God…”), and there is no Profession of Faith (we never have this any more at our Church). When I combine this lack with the fact that our Pastor has entirely his own versions of the prayers of the Liturgy, I sometimes fo not feel I am even at a Catholic Mass. Are each of these required components of the Mass?

The creed is a must. The confetior should be recited but is often substituted with the Kyrie. Sunday Mass I believe the Kyrie is sufficient due to the Gloria being sung or recited.

I am not an expert on this but the Kyrie is often substituted at some daily Masses in the parish for the confetior as was the case this morning. At school Mass the confetior and the Kyrie are both said.

Yesterday at the Mass I attended the poor old priest forgot the Sign of the Cross.
How old is the priest. Is it possible that it is an oversite. Jot him a note asking him if the Creed was just forgotten?
First give him the benefit of the doubt.

Yes, the Kyrie is a valid substitute for the “I confess to Almighty God…” An example is that it might start out “You were sent to heal the contrite, Lord have Mercy”, or other variations. That’s a prayer for forgiveness of sins.

The Creed is a must, but it’s not said on weekdays, nor is the Gloria (exception - feats I think, don’t have the GIRM handy). I assume you meant Sunday Mass, I don’t know what to say if there was no Creed…

[quote=awalt]Yes, the Kyrie is a valid substitute for the “I confess to Almighty God…” An example is that it might start out “You were sent to heal the contrite, Lord have Mercy”, or other variations. That’s a prayer for forgiveness of sins.