Last Rites -- What takes place and why is it performed?

Hello all,
I am a protestant inquirer who is interested in knowing more about what takes place during Catholic Last Rites and what its significance is in Catholicism. I assume it a special prayer for the person’s soul and to prepare him/her for death in some way.

I assume that it takes place for a Catholic who is at or near death and involves a priest performing a special set of things, but I have little or no knowledge of the specifics, or what spiritual benefits the dying person receives from it. I assume the absolution of sins is involved, but that is just a guess on my part.

My only background involves Father Mulcahy on the old TV series MASH making the sign of the cross and doing other unspecified things for soldiers who were at death’s door.

Follow up question: Can last Rites be performed on someone who recently died or do they have to be alive and conscious? Does the recipient have to be Catholic?

Thanks in advance for your help in better understanding what takes place during Last Rites.

Hi Tommy,

Although God can and does give us grace directly, he instituted sacraments in keeping with our nature. We especially need grace when we are at death’s door, because at that time we are particularly weak, and the devil tries to tempt us all the more, as it is his last chance.

For this reason three sacraments are given to someone presumed near death, to make sure we are in a state of grace, to give us strength in our last struggle, to heal our soul’s wounds, and if God wills it, to heal also the body. These sacraments are: Penance (a.k.a. Confession or Reconciliation), Extreme Unction (a.k.a. Anointing of the Sick), and Holy Communion.