Latin language and it's future role

Hello everybody

I am a new member as can be seen when looking at my join date.

First of all I would like to apologize if this subject has been discussed before.

I am currently studying the mother tongue of our church, the Roman Catholic Church on my own. I am lucky to know French and Italian and a great deal of Spanish (been studying it in school)

My question is this; Would it not be great and a blessing for us Catholics and all Christians for that matter to revive the Latin language not only as the language of Catholic clergy but also as a language that bounds us Catholics regardless of ethnicity and language? I think it is highly plausible that it would strengthen our common unity.

I am still very young, my English is not the best and I have not studied the Second Vatican Council as much as I should but I fell we lost something when Latin was removed during mass, most cultural tradition. I am not a Catholic traditionalist and I understand the need for reforms, especially when it concerns language barriers during mass but I feel those reforms reduced Latins ancient role in our religion, greatly.

What is others opinion on this subject?

And sorry for my English, again.

God Bless.

its a good idea, the discussion should be interesting.:popcorn:

Forget the declinations, please !

Nostrae Paginae, Ave. Lingua latina in futuris generationibus importantia non erit. Cicerone tempore, lingua latina a populo senatoribusque et a “mare romano” circundato populis familiris erat. In commercio, in templis, in Senatu, in execitu, in multis et uarris ubicumque templis (in orationibus variis deiis), nihil nisi lingua latina orata erat.

Sed, portquam Caesarem Agustum multos annos habemus. Si atque apud romanos, dixerimus Caesar Augustus mediam historiae esse, dunc MM annos potquam Caesar Augustus sumuus, quod ineptum sententia est.