Latin mass, this could be wrong

I found out on some sources that the Catholic Church keep using Latin in masses. Doesn’t that prevent knowing the teachings of Jesus known by Catholics? It seemed to persist till the 19th century. Did I get it right? Isn’t it wrong because people wouldn’t understand it?

I’m not sure exactly what you are asking. First, the Tridentine Latin Mass was said until the liturgical reform after the 2nd Vat. Council. That was in the 1960s. I am told that the Epistle and Gospel were read in English. The Homily was in English as well. Second, people had missals that had both Latin and an English translation so people could follow along. I will say that children may have found it difficult, but I started learning the responses as soon as I started school. I had a children’s missal that helping me follow the Mass.

The Mass is a Sacrifice, not a theology lesson. People do not need to understand it. They just need to know that what they are witnessing is sacred. The Latin and the secretiveness of the TLM only increases its beauty and mystery. Plus, Latin is the official language of the Church, so having the Mass in the same language unifies us.

The Epistle and Gospel were first read in Latin, and it was permitted to read them in the vernacular during the Homily. Plus, even if it wasn’t read in English during the homily, there was the Bible in the vernacular.

19th century? The Tridentine Mass was in use until 1970. It was the official Mass of the Church until 40 years ago.

True, though they were read in Latin first. So the people received the same Gospel reading twice. :thumbsup:

Still receive it twice at most EFs.

It is not wrong, besides and hearing latin phrases over and over again must bring an understanding to the average mind. Besides, the Readings, Gospel and Homily are all in english or the language of the society.