Latin...

Does anybody here know any good books or other learning material, for learning latin? I’ve been studying the language for about 9 months, and I was wondering what helped some of you learn it.

If I do say so myself, I and some others make some good recommendations on these threads:

[thread=98155]Friends Don’t Let Friends Study Latin Alone![/thread]

[thread=97593]Best textbook or tapes for learning Latin?[/thread]

Also helpful was this advice from an old teacher: “Get yourself a vulgate and read the Gospel of John – You already know the story, and John repeats himself an awful lot, giving you 2 or 3 chances to figure out what he’s saying.” :stuck_out_tongue:

tee

A year or so ago I came across a great website that had Latin lessons starting with elementary and going to intermediate. Sorry I lost the URL, but I’ll bet with some searching you can find it.

Also helpful was this advice from an old teacher: “Get yourself a vulgate and read the Gospel of John – You already know the story, and John repeats himself an awful lot, giving you 2 or 3 chances to figure out what he’s saying.” :stuck_out_tongue:

I have a Vulgate… hardest book to read… ever! Jerome was apparently quite inteligent.

Salve amice,
I got my Latin, such as it is, on line from Judith Meyer.
Her tutorial site is at:
learnlangs.com/latin
This is Classical Latin, not Church Latin, but apart from orthography, and purported pronunciation, there is little difference.
The course is very cheap, free if you do not require tutorial feedback, and the tutorial interface is very friendly.
Vale,

I have, in the process of translating the CF Gospel, set out a two column Latin/English Gospel set, broken up by phrases of corresponding meanings.
The Latin source was though, not the Clementine Latin, but that of the Stettgart school.
The orthography is more classical, and thare are minor textual differences.
For what it is worth, you can find it here:
btinternet.com/~daveat168/Gospels/B43C001.htm