Law School or the seminary?

Hello,

I am currently a first-year law student who is also discerning a call to the priesthood. I am fairly certain that I am called to be a priest. Should I leave law school now and go to the seminary, or should I wait 3 years until I get my law degree? Is a legal education beneficial to being a priest? I am on a full scholarship, so money is not an issue.

Thank you and God bless!

Catholic Illini

if you want to be a lawyer, go to law school
if you want to be a priest, go to seminary
I don't understand the question.
Yes there are priests (and religious) who are also lawyers.

Have you spoken with your parish priest or at least the Director of Vocations in your diocese? I'd start there rather than here.

I am a lawyer, and advocate for the diocisan tribunal and a deacon, so maybe I can speak to your question. Most diocese are in need of people with legal backgrounds. The annulment process is time, personell and asset consuming. So are social issues that often require a legal mind to fully analyze. Your legal training would definitely, IMHO, greatly benefit you in the priesthood, and your diocese. Often, if given the opportunity and the resources, a diocese will send a seminarian with a law degree to Rome to obtain a degree in canon law. Compared to law school, canon law preparation is pretty easy, especially if you have a civil law degree already.

HOWEVER, I think you need to seriously consider WHY you feel the call to the priesthood. If you discern a calling to be a parish vicar or pastor, the legal degree, although still helpful in that role, may lead your bishop to place you in an adminstrative role, where any calling and desire to serve in the parish would not be fulfulled.

By the way, contrary to popular opinion, being a lawyer and leading a holy life are not inconsistent. :D