Lawsuit: Ohio nurse was 'worked to death'

Ok, I’m a nurse who works night shifts. Sometimes I get sleepy on my 40 minute drive home. What do I do? I pull over and have a nap. Working night shift can make you sleepy. I actually find my sleepiness totally unrelated to how busy my shift is, but to how much sleep I’ve had the day before.

I’m sorry for this nurse’s family, but I don’t see how this is the hospital’s fault. If you work night shift, you’d better arrange your life around getting enough sleep. :shrug: I’m all for better staffing, but don’t see how that is related to this accident.

cnn.com/2013/11/12/health/ohio-nurse-worked-to-death-lawsuit-says/

I agree. A nurse should have a better than average understanding of the dangers of driving while tired. If you cannot drive safely, call a cab or make other arrangements. I feel sorry for her family, but it sounds to me like a lawyer smelled a fee from threating expensive litigation.

“Worked to death”, what a pathetic spin, I think it’s a universally-known fact that nurses need to work night shifts, oftentimes for many years before they can land a day-time position. If 12 hours night shifts aren’t for you, maybe being a nurse isn’t for you. Hopefully, I don’t come across as a big philodox. :stuck_out_tongue:

:rotfl::tiphat::whistle:

Incidentally, I found out about this suit because the ANA (American Nurse’s Association) sent me a link in an email. They are a national nurse’s union and I’m on their mailing list. They push a lot of political agendas, but aren’t the best union in their collective bargaining.

It irritates me to see them using this to further their political agendas, rather than educating night shift workers on tactics to avoid falling asleep at the wheel. This nurse could have very well killed someone else’s family member with her irresponsible driving. :frowning:

Philodox? Thanks for the cool word.