Lay Confiteor

Hello everyone,

I am leading the Liturgy of the Hours for an upcoming retreat of my young adult group. We will be using booklets from eBreviary, a great site that some of you probably know about. For Night Prayer, after the Confiteor, the booklet indicates that the “presiding minister” prays, “May almighty God have mercy on us, forgive us our sins, and bring us to everlasting life.” Since I am just a layman, am I authorized to use those words, or should I omit that part?

Also, this situation raises a second question, and may be dependent on its answer. In the Penitential Rite at Mass, when the priest uses those words, is he granting absolution or merely praying that we may be forgiven? I think it is that latter, but I would love to have that cleared up. Thanks in advance.

1. yes, do not omit.

2. the latter.

May your prayer, united with the prayers of the Church, bring grace and peace.

Peace

ewtn.com/library/CURIA/CDWGILH.HTM#Ch III-XI

Peace

In liturgical rubrics if a prayer is restricted to a deacon priest or Bishop then that is clearly stated. An example of this is the final blessings given at morning and evening prayer and at no other hour where a priest or deacon will close with “the Lord be with you. … (and with your spirit) May almighty Good bless you. …”

When no priest or deacon is present the closer is"The Lord bless us and keep us from all evil and bring us to everlasting life"

This distinction is explicitly and unambiguously at our in the texts.
The same applies on the texts for other liturgies and rites.

DISMISSAL

May the Lord bless us, protect us from all evil, and bring us to everlasting life.

–Amen

ROME, 28 JUNE 2005 (ZENIT)
Answered by Father Edward McNamara, professor of liturgy at the Regina Apostolorum Pontifical University.