Lecture: Mark comes third and last in time among the synoptic Gospels

Ran across an excellent video, from a lecture by John Finnis, an Oxford & Notre Dame philosopher of law. He persusively argues that the conventional view widely accepted today, that the Gospel of Mark is of an earlier date than the Gospels of Matthew and Luke, is wrong, and that the evidence is clear that Mark comes third and last in time among the synoptic Gospels. I am a biblical novice, but I thought this talk was just awesome, that I had to share.

youtu.be/Q2CBY4vfOL0

Hmm… did he really say that Markan priority is wrong, or rather, just that the arguments given for Markan priority are poorly constructed?

Something that always puzzles me about the scholarly pursuits on this topic (order in which gospels were written) is what difference does it make which gospel was written first?

Because in the world of scholars it is “Publish or Perish!”. You can’t publish unless you come up with new theories and conjectures [speculations?]. :smiley:

You know scholarship, they make mountains out of molehills.