Led Zeppelin, Rush, King's X, and Tool

Quite simply, do I need to let them go?

Even though not my main bread and butter, I am a classically trained musician who has also been trained in the bars when it comes to electric music, so my tastes are very broad.

I am 50 years old, and these 4 bands have been a constant in my listening, though less so in recent times. I cannot nor will not gloss over the occultic intent with 3 of them, especially in the case of Tool.

I just really love the music, and lyrically, I can even appreciate and respect their POV, though I cannot adopt it myself.

How do I reconcile this with my approach to the Tiber? Or do I not even try, and just trash them?

I can’t speak for all the bands you mention, but I am a huge Rush fan. I don’t see anything at all wrong with listening to them. At most, I can think of possibly two songs that might be problematic if you’re scrupulous, but I don’t really look to musicians for my theology. I also have a friend in seminary who is a Rush fan, so I’m pretty sure there’s nothing to worry about there. I’ve heard some of Tool’s music in the past and while I did enjoy it, I never actually bought any of their albums. I could see where you might have a problem with some of their imagery. Again, I’m not all that familiar with them, but from what I remember it didn’t seem to be something that I would continue to listen to.

One of the bands I used to listen to before my conversion was White Zombie/Rob Zombie. I really liked that a lot. It was hard at first, but none of that is on my iPod any longer. I’d actually forgotten I still had those albums until just now. I probably need to sell those at some point…

I’ll let others comment on the remaining bands as I have very limited experience with them, making it hard to form a good opinion.

Welcome home!

-CK

[quote="Catholic_Kenpo, post:2, topic:223388"]
One of the bands I used to listen to before my conversion was White Zombie/Rob Zombie.

[/quote]