Legit member of Church?

Hello, I went through RCIA and was confirmed on Easter of 09. I converted from the Protestant faith. I was already baptized as a Protestant in the Trinitarian formula on September 6, 1998. However, I was unable to get a baptism certificate from the church because they didn’t offer them.
This apparently was not a problem as the Priest, a friend of mine, simply took my word for it. Now I’ve read how normally if you can’t provide proof of baptism than the church will “conditionally” baptize you. However this was not offered.
Well just to make sure everything was legit and that I was officially Catholic, I called the front office and to my dismay, they did not have me in their records, even though I graduated from their RCIA class and was confirmed on Easter with the class. Wow.
I told the secretary that I went through the class. She called the priest and confirmed and printed me out an official letter they give to the new Catholics with a diocese stamp on it. It says I was confirmed into the church. I offered to be conditionally baptized but the Priest said it was unnecessary.
This is all shocking to me. Does the Vatican have records so we can prove who we are? If I wanted to be married 20 years from now and lived in a different country (just for example) how would I prove to the Church that I was Catholic?
This is unnerving to me. I just want to make sure I am officially in the Church like everyone else.
I posted this question in the “Ask an apologist” forum but they chose not to answer my question for whatever reason. Rather disappointing.

The quick answer is yes, you are a member of the Church. As far as records, your diocese should have copies of any important sacramental paperwork.