Lessons with a death metal guitarist

Hi,

I play the guitar, and I’d like to improve my speed and technique. I’ve found a guitar teacher online, whose abilities are totally stunning, and also the price is affordable. The only thing is that he plays in a quite famous death metal band, and I’ve checked them out - they’ve got some dodgy, “evil” songs.

Do you think it wouldn’t be ok to sign up for his lessons? I mean I’m 100% sure seeing him wouldn’t harm my faith in any way, but what I’m worried about is that by paying him, I would participate in supporting his activities, which are sinful.

God bless.

As a fellow guitarist, I would not worry about supporting him financially, as even the most successful death metal bands make pennies, hence his “second” (real) job. Although you say your faith would not be affected in any way, I would be more concerned about his influence on you, not to profile metal heads…they usually are some of the nicest people you could meet, however I believe some have serious issues hidden inside.

I used to take guitar lessons from a very openly Pagan metal musician. He was a great musician and a fun guy. Metal guitarists are probably the best ones to learn from, because it’s such complicated music.

Will he be using songs with sinful words? I mean, if you are practicing a song that has evil lyrics, those lyrics will come into your head while you are playing, that might be a concern.

But most really good *musicians *actually have wider backgrounds, so I would imagine he would have the flexibility to teach outside the “death metal” (what will they come up with next!) genre.

As to your responsibility–morally you are making a moral exchange: lessons for money. What *he *choses to do with that money is not your responsibility. Just like if you paid someone to fix your car–if he used the money for drugs, that would not be your responsibility, right?

Thanks for the replies!