Liberation Theology

Okay, I’m no expert in theology. But, I was wondering, what exactly is wrong with liberation theology? I hear that some Catholics, (even Popes) say it is okay and yet others condemn it. Upon outward appearances, to me, liberation theology seems totally consistent with the Gospel message. What are the pro’s and cons of this way of thinking?

I’m certainly no expert either, but it seems to me that liberation theology had noble intentions: putting the social dimension of the Gospel into practice by seeking to alleviate the suffering of the poor. How it went about it, however, is where it seems to have run afoul. The claim is rightly made that some clerics became too enmeshed in politics and revolution in Latin America, in particular, allying themselves with Marxist forces. In a greater sense, it comes down to a conflict between conservative and progressive ideology.

As Jose Comblin puts it: “What was borrowed from Marxism was its critique of capitalism - which anyone can borrow without being a Marxist… Those who were involved in social movements Latin America regarded Marxist movements as historical allies which were seeking the same immediate objective. They thought they could work together. They thought that Christians or Marxists by themselves could never manage to change society. There was nothing wrong with this alliance, except that it happened to conflict with the strategy of the United States and NATO, and the Vatican as well. The mistake was not to have stated publically the criticisms of the policies of the former Soviet Union, China, Cuba and so forth, that were made privately. Silence seemed to indicate approval.”

Of course, the late Fr. Comblin was a supporter of liberation theology. I only include his words here because I have no doubt that someone on this forum will more than adequately point out the problems with the movement.