Limited culpability mitigating mortal sin

About two months ago, I confessed to a priest that I did not usually confess to. I have been struggling with a certain sin for a while and it has sent me to the confessional once a week. This priest told me that, from the way I explained the sin, he didn’t believe that I was fully culpable when it takes place, thus mitigating the potential of it being a mortal sin. He suggested that I make well considered confessions once a month rather than scrupulous ones every week and to continue availing myself of holy communion trusting that my sins are venial and are forgiven at the beggining of mass. I emailed another priest to get a second opinion and he seemed weary of questioning advice given to me by another priest. He suggested that I follow the priest’s advice. I have been doing so for about two months but can help feeling uncomfortable. I still try to make an act of perfect contrition when I commit the sin, but my mind hasn’t quite gotten behind the whole “waiting a month and taking communion anyway” thing. Is my anxiety warranted or should I listen to father (or in this case, fathers)?

Thank you for your help, you have my prayers

I don’t believe they or any priest would tell you to not confess a sin and to wait a month because then we are choosing to stay in sin and to accept sin which isn’t right.

However, you might be deeply overthinking this sin which is why they are saying not to come to confession so much, I think it really depends on the sin. I don’t see anything wrong with you going to confession with a different priest but again it depends on the sin.

If it were me and I masturbated, if it was mortal or venial I would want to get it off my chest. Venial sins are forgiven during mass so perhaps it has already been forgiven for me (maybe for you as well depending on the sin) but if you think its mortal why risk it?