Literality of Scriptures

Hello, I had some questions about discussing scriptures, evolution, etc. with people that take the Bible wholly literally. I recently heard about a speaker coming to a nearby town that will be discussing why evolution is not a reality, etc. I do not want to be disrespectful or argumentative, but I would like to be prepared in case there is any type of question session. While I feel as though I can defend the faith and defend evolution (I am a biologist) separately, I have never met anyone that held such fundamental views, and am unsure how to go about defending my views if the situation were to present itself. What types of arguments do fundamentalists normally present? How do you counter such arguments? I have come to realize that many people have a poor understanding of the meaning of science, so I am afraid I will just upset people or say the wrong thing and it will negate the points that I would like to make. Most of the people present will most likely not be Catholic, but sola scriptura Protestants. How do you make the case for not interpreting parts of the Bible literally, when they only tend to accept other verses from the Bible? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.