Liturgical Music

Hello,

I have been a dedicated Christian my whole life and have now come into the fullness of truth! I will be accepted into the Catholic Church this Easter! It has been a major transition in my life. I am a church musician and I have played the piano and most recently the organ for Protestant services as my income for many years. I realize that my musical skills are up to the task of accepting a position in music for the Catholic Church, but I was wondering if any of you pianists or organists who play in church could advise me on resources that I could turn to for learning more about the liturgical music tradition of Catholicism. I am interested in pursuing the job of music director in a Catholic church, but I feel that my protestant experience is inadequate to simply walk into a leadership position. What are your recommendations? Thanks all!!

[quote="eyesopening, post:1, topic:315998"]
Hello,

I have been a dedicated Christian my whole life and have now come into the fullness of truth! I will be accepted into the Catholic Church this Easter! It has been a major transition in my life. I am a church musician and I have played the piano and most recently the organ for Protestant services as my income for many years. I realize that my musical skills are up to the task of accepting a position in music for the Catholic Church, but I was wondering if any of you pianists or organists who play in church could advise me on resources that I could turn to for learning more about the liturgical music tradition of Catholicism. I am interested in pursuing the job of music director in a Catholic church, but I feel that my protestant experience is inadequate to simply walk into a leadership position. What are your recommendations? Thanks all!!

[/quote]

There is the Church Music Association of America. They have a colloquium every summer in June. I think this year's is in Utah. My husband went to it and he really learned alot!

Don't underestimate your gifts.