Liturgy of the hours (LOTH) chant

I have been praying the liturgy of the hours for a few months now and I am interested in learning ways to sing the various offices. I only have the single volume version of Christian Prayer as published by the Daughters of St. Paul.

It is my understanding that gregorian chant is a popular way to chant the readings. Are there online resources specifically related to chanting the liturgy of the hours? If gregorian chant is all in latin is it worth it to start learning?

Well, gregorian chant may be in Latin, but chant in general is a form of song without standard meter or set rythm (and I’m not a chant expert, just a musician - I know for a fact there are other liturgists out there that have had formal training in chant and could better assist you). I know when I’m playing keys at Mass and our priest chants the liturgy of the Eucharist, I ocassionally roll out a chord for him within a predetermined key, then roll out others at various points that are in keeping with the key and the major chord progressions. Specifically in our case we use the Mass of Creation setting which uses a combination of chant and the more familiar polyphony. The chant just allows the preist the flexibility needed to use more or fewer words depending on the celebration.

Essentially, when you chant by yourself you hit a pitch and stay on that for a few words, then you might change pitch a few different times as the spirit moves. If, for the sake of trying to line your chant up to some of the more traditional forms, you may do well to apply some of the more typical medieval modalities - if you were both musically inclined and have the desire and time to do the research. Research the music written in say 1000-1500 and get an idea for how some of the keys and scales worked and try to work within those.