Liturgy of the Hours vs the Divine Office

I bought the 4-volume Liturgy of the Hours and while ago and I’ve been using it each day for a couple of months now but I found out the other day that the approved form for England and Wales (whence I come) is the 3-volume Divine Office and the version I use is approved for USA, Canada and a few other countries (but not UK).

My question is; is it OK that I pray the American version as opposed to the approved British version?

Now I know that because I’m not a member of the clergy, I technically don’t need to be praying it anyway but if I did become a priest, would I be able to stick to the way, in which I pray the Liturgy of the Hours (as approved for the USA) or would I have to use the approved Divine Office (3-volume) version?

I think that the UK version just has devotions to more English saints. Do correct me if I am wrong, but I believe the prayers themselves to be the same in all other languages.
I’m just starting to get into the habit of the Divine Office myself, so I’m still a bit confused.

Also, I think the Liturgy of the Hours is just the updated terminology of the Divine Office, or version. Or something… I know a version I have (Divinumofficium.com) was completely different from the version I used at a recent retreat.

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with using a non-local version, but you may miss out on some of the Anglo-focus.

EDIT: You already covered some stuff I said. No offense meant. That’ll teach me to read fully.

The Divine Office is just another many for the Liturgy of the Hours. And there are many different versions of it. Many religious orders have their own. I am not sure if diocesan priests are obligated to pray the version chosen by their diocese or can choose their own or need permission from their bishop.

If you were paying publicly or were obligated to pray the office you would need to pay from the correct local version. But that could be tackled then. The main differences are