Liturgy of the Hours

I have a question about praying the Liturgy of the Hours. I am a police officer and I try to pray the morning and evening prayer everyday, however I now have to work a different shift which won’t allow me to be around to pray the Liturgy of the Hours. I will usually be able to pray either the morning prayer or the evening prayer but I will be working during the times that I am supposed to pray the other portion of the Liturgy of the Hours. My question is if I cannot pray a certain part of the Liturgy of the Hours because I am working should I make it up later or should I just skip that portion of prayer because I missed it, and pick back up the next day?

It’s up to you, really. Personally, I pray the hour as soon as I’m able sometimes praying two hours together. Laity are not required to pray the Liturgy of the Hours and don’t have strict rules to follow. Do what is best for you! :thumbsup:

It is entirely up to you. You do not have a legal obligation to pray the Office so you are doing well already. The main thing is to pray it even when you feel least able, totally uninterested and feeling spiritually numb.

Only those that are ordained as deacons, priests or bishops as legally bound to pray the Office (legal as in a commitment to Love, not legalism) on behalf of the entire Church.
My bishop told me (I’m a seminarian (of the older sort)) that he has on occasions said his entire office in the morning as he was aware that he would not have a spare moment until the late evening.

It is wonderful to know that there are others saying the same prayers around the world. ‘When our brethren in the West are sleeping those in the East are praising, and so the Lord receives a constant symphony of prayer.’

I use the “It’s 5 o’clock somewhere” rule.
I will pray Morning Prayer anytime before 8am.