Liturgy of the Hours

Hi everyone

I've been saying the liturgy of the hours for about 9 months and am normally quite good at knowing which week we are on and whether it is a saints day, feast day etc. But this morning I am completely stuck! Do we carry on and therefore is it week 4, do we start again at week 1 because Easter is over or could it be one of the other weeks? Completely lost!

Thanks.

Two disclaimers: First, I have been praying the LOTH for less time than you have. Second, I’m in France and my four-volume breviary is in French. Don’t know if it makes a difference, but I thought I’d mention it just in case.

All that said, my breviary (Volume 3, 7th-21st weeks of Ordinary Time) says we use Week III. The first psalm of Morning Prayer is Psalm 83. Might be Psalm 84 in the English breviary.

Hope this helps.

According to the page markers in divineoffice.org, today is Monday of Week III, p. 867 in Christian Prayer.

Today is Monday of the 7th week of Ordinary Time. Week III in the psalter.

There’s an annual guide published – Saint Joseph Guide to the Liturgy of the Hours, that tells you where we are for every day. There’s also a version for the one-volume Christian Prayer.

OR, when in doubt, check here:
divineoffice.org/
Click on the tab for any of the hours, and it will tell you where you should be in the book.

As others have said it’s Week 3 of the Psalter. This confused Me as well.

The reason is simple. The easter season breaks the pattern of Ordinary Time, and used it’s own pattern.

The return to Ordinary Time, results in the return to the standard pattern for Ordinary time. Therefore as we’re on Week 7 we take:
7÷4 = 1 remainder 3. (in formal maths this is: 7 Modulo 4 = 3)
The Remainder is 3 so we’re on Week 3.
(Remainder 0 = week 4)

Always check what the return week is, because there’s often a week in ordinary time skipped depending on the particular years callender. In the case of this year there was no Week 6