Living with someone you despise

As you may know I’m a college student right now. I’m currently living with my (former) best friend. We met as young children at the age of 12 and had been great friends all through High School. When we were both seniors he started changing into a different person, and started being really mean to me. In fact I flat out stopped talking to him by then. Life happened and we both ended up going to the same college and we ended up living together. I went into it knowing that I had very hard feelings about him and that this would not be easy, but I just shrugged it off saying “eh, I just won’t let it bother me. Our living together is what’s best for me”. For the first few weeks it was great. We were always doing things together, having fun and all the like. As time went by we gradually started doing less and less (I guess the honeymoon ended) and my real feelings for him were harder to surpress. I never acted with downright anger towards him, rather I just stopped talking to him (he calls it “ignoring him”). this really bothers him (he always wants to be the center of attetntion) so I tried telling him that I had always loved him but towards the end of high school he said a lot of really hurtful things to me. He apologized and promised not to do it. He broke that promise within days (of course).
At this point its not that I’m angry at him for what he’s done to me. It’s just that I don’t feel the same way about him anymore, i just don’t really have much desire to have anything to do with him. We’ve talked several times about not living together anymore, but in a lot of ways it makes the most sense.
What’s a guy supposed to do?