Looking at the UU 'church'.

Hello. I was brought up Protestant and broke from that in my teens/early 20’s to explore everything else (mainly paganism). I was attracted to the Roman Catholic Church because I still believed in Jesus Christ as the son of God, and I figured if I was going to be Christian I would go to the ‘start’. I studied and converted in 2005. I still love the RCC but do not like a lot of the politics. I especially don’t agree with the stance regarding homosexual relationships/marriage, the ordination of women, and sex/contraception. I believed in my heart that if I wanted to be a ~true~ Christian in the RCC I had to believe those things and tried very hard to convince and “pray” myself into it. It did not happen.

Because of this I have stopped attending Church the last several months. I have started looking into the Unitarian Universalist religion because I could still identify as a Catholic (which I do, and think I will continue to do so - but not as concretely as I had previously) while being a member. I have a family and want them to attend a ‘church’ growing up. It is important to me. I also don’t want them to ever feel like I did growing up (like questioning was wrong and if you don’t believe the problem must be with you). I want them to feel free to question things or even explore other areas of faith/lack of faith. I want that for myself as well.

I want to stand before God having done what I best could to truly follow and know Him with all my being.

I hope this wasn’t too long. Thanks.

Don’t leave the Catholic Church because of all the contentiousness and meanness you hear in the media from political Conservatives. Don’t give them that much power over you!

To whatever extent you consume news on TV and radio, reduce it by about 95%. You’ll immediately begin to feel better. You really don’t need to be filled up with all that national and international news every day. You’ll see.