Looking For A Parish

The church I went to last Sunday and will go to this Sunday is not where I will end up. I am looking at two parishes where we are moving to. I have no clue what to look for in a Catholic church. I have no issues sending an email to a protestant church and knowing what to ask. Actually this is one reason I am converting. After many emails with Pastors and seeing that the churches are so different and have different beliefs, I realized that something was wrong there and that I need to look outside of the protestant church. I know the visiting the church is truly the only way to see what it is like, but if there are things that are massive red flags, i want to know now.

Dianna

When I joined the Catholic church, I was a member of my local parish as I was a college student and it was the most convenient to me.

It used to be that Catholics had to join the parish closest to them but I understand that is no longer the case.

Get on the parish websites. Look at their bulletins if they are online. You can tell a lot about the parish that way. Then visit each parish several times. Ask God to tell you what parish to join.

Feel free to send an email to the parish and see if you can get some information.

As to what to look for, that depends on your preferences. Do you want a smaller parish? Do you want a more traditional one, or more contemporary? What kinds of activities do you and your children want to be involved in? Do you want a church that offers Daily Mass? Is the commute an issue?

Best wishes.

I do want Mass daily. I know I won’t be able to make it daily but will be able to make it a few days during the week.
One does have bulletins online.
I have a feeling both are not that big because of the area we are moving to.
I would love to be in a parish that takes being part of the local community very important. I really love how important it seems to be in a lot of Catholic parishes to do charity work. That is something I want to be involved with.