Looking for creative ideas - Teaching 7th grade ccd

I have been surfing the net for some answers on teaching 7th grade CCD. I am hoping that someone can help me. This is my first time teaching, and I remember when I went how boring it was. I want the kids to have fun, but remember what they learn so that they look forward to coming each week. I am stumped on some activities or proejcts that I can do with them. Seventh grade is very akward. Any suggestions!!! Thank you.

DH has taught 7th grade for two years now.

What series are you using?

This age likes to learn, and they like to ask questions.

They don’t need “art projects”. They need doctrine. But, they need it presented in a way that involves them instead of lecture-- because they’ve been lectured at all day long.

This age group is still very competitive with boys-against-girls type games. Jeopardy and “who wants to be a millionaire” are easy games to use for review games.

A couple of things I used last year:

Parts of the mass scramble game. I put each part of the Mass on an index card and shuffled them, making enough sets of index cards for the number of teams I divided them into. I put the 4 sections of the Mass (Introductory Rites; Liturgy of the Word; Liturgy of the Eucharist; Concluding Rites) up on the wall as headers for each team (to make it easier the index cards were color coded and so were the headings-- for example, yellow was introductory rites, green LOTW, etc). They divided into teams and had to put the index cards in oder, under the correct mass section. The team with the most correct won a prize (no matter how pitiful their final score). We then went over the correct answers AND used missalettes to read about each part.

More in next post…

12 Apostles. In this lesson we learned about each of the 12 Apostles and about the 4 marks of the Church. This lesson took about 4 weeks total but it was worth the time.