LOTH & Mental Prayer

I’ve been praying the LOTH for almost two years now, and it’s getting to the point where I’m feeling drawn to exploring the more contemplative side of this practice. Do you recite the LOTH on a regular basis? If so, do you incorporate mental prayer into your recitations? What sort of mental prayer do you include, and how do you do so? And do you do this for every office, or just for a part of the day? Thank you for sharing your insights!

According to St Teresa of Avila if you are thinking about what you are saying when you pray then you are engaged in mental prayer. I don’t get to pray the Liturgy of the Hours every day but when I do I try to have some time for meditation afterwards.

Me too. I just started the LOTH and like you I tried to think about what I prayed coz I don’t want it to be meaningless words or for the sake of doing it.

I pray the LOTH and love it. It’s more vocal prayer than mental prayer but yes like poche says you can think about what you are praying and it be ‘more mental prayer’ like St Theresa of Avila said. I am no expert on such things, but if you want to practice true mental prayer I’d do meditation after the Divine office. It is up to you though, but Divine office (LOTH - I merely say Divine office as it is called that in England where I currently reside) is a communal prayer of the church and said in union with the church even if you are saying it alone so really it’s not changed as such. Though please don’t take my comments as anything more than my opinion. I notice this is often the case on this forum. I think the Divine office is wonderful and it’s lovely it is inspiring you to greater prayer. I’d suggest meditation and/or Lectio Divina perhaps following on from the Divine office but afterwards, maybe you could use one of the Psalms or canticles that inspired you as your material ?Anyway just an idea. God bless you.