LOTH question - Protestant hymns?

Hello! I love Charles Wesley's hymns, but I am surprised to find them in the Liturgy of the Hours. Can anyone help me to understand why they have been included in something so formal? It feels a little weird, like finding a Protestant Bible in a Catholic chapel. :o
Is it just an example of the Church accepting good stuff as its own regardless of its immediate origin?

This is just off the cuff and I am not an expert in this area but if the songs do not have anything in them that would contract Catholic teaching and theology and have been reviewed by an imprimatur then I believe they can be included. This would include a number of Christmas carols as well which are sung in Church during the Christmas season.

Charles Wesley was born and baptized a Catholic, received confirmation and communion, and formed in the Catholic Church by his parents.

So maybe some authentic Catholic Theology sneaked into his hymns.

But you do need to be careful

Dear SecretaryMonday,

The LOTH has different hymns in different countries, according to a culture’s own heritage. In America, England, and Canada, many protestant hymns were placed into the local version of the LOTH because there simply weren’t any other English-language hymns. It’s the same in France: they used Huguenot songs in their own LOTH because of a lack of French-language hymns in the 1960s. Remember that all liturgical singing was in Latin for many centuries, and the only liturgies in vernacular (which produced vernacular hymns) were Protestant. This is the reason.

Maybe some enterprising Catholic poet can write hymns for the next version of the LOTH, and supply the dearth. :slight_smile:

P.S. Charles Wesley was born into an Anglican family and baptized Church of England. His father was a minister in that church. No-one in that family was Catholic.

[quote="Classicist, post:4, topic:339354"]