LOTH to Roman Breviary Advice

Hi,

I used a wind fall to purchase the Baronius Press Roman Breviary as I have been attending Tridentne Mass and very much like the traditional Liturgy. Also Baronius Press is strongly suggesting that there may not be another printing so it felt like now is the time.

I have been praying the LOTH for ~7 years and often pray 3 day time prayers so am used to a bit more than “normal”.

I understand Matins is a demanding one.

Some advice I found online suggested easing in to it but that was unclear as to how.

I found an app that has the readings as well so I should be able to check myself.

I am very excited to delve into a more traditional form of prayer.

Any advice….

Thanks,

El Paso

I eased myself into the LOTH many years ago, starting only with Night Prayer (because it short, simple, and repeats on a 7-day cycle). I then added Morning and Evening Prayer on a daily basis for Lent, and from there it was a short matter to just toss in Office of Readings and one of the daytime prayers.

So you might consider starting just with Lauds and Vespers on a daily basis. See how it fits. Then throw in Compline and one of the daytime hours. Then Prime. Then Matins (and remember, you can anticipate Matins from 2 PM the day before).

Well in my opinion the older Roman Breviary is not very traditional; it only dates back to 1910 and at that time introduced many non-traditional innovations that were plenty controversial back then too. For traditional you want the Monastic Breviary which exists in pre- and post-conciliar forms and dates back 1500 years in its basic schema.

That said, it is more fleshed out than the LOTH and will have more traditional language (Latin) and a basic layout that’s a bit closer to the Monastic than the current LOTH (mostly, the placement of the hymn for Lauds and Vespers). And the liturgical year will of course mesh better with the Tridentine Mass that you attend. And most important, it’s a licit option.