Love is a choice, but doesn't respect have to be earned?

I posted a few days ago about my marriage issues - and how they stem from my not being “in love” with my husband and probably never having been in love with him from the start…

I can appreciate that being ‘in love’ is a feeling and that in marriage we have to CHOOSE to love our spouse. I am working on that (thanks to many of the suggestions and the advice of several of you in this forum) and taking it one day at a time.

So while I am working on choosing to love, I am also aware that respecting my husband is a huge part of healing our marriage. My problem is that I don’t see how you can *choose *to respect someone. Isn’t that something that has to be earned?

To illustrate my question better…before we were married, I graduated college with my bachelors, secured a job at a prestigious hospital and earned a good living - lived on my own, bought a car, etc. My husband, on the other hand, floundered around, couldn’t finish college, bounced from one job to another before finally joining the military. It was his decision to join the military that actually earned some respect from me, however now that we are married, I see him displaying the same behaviors that he did pre-marriage that caused me to have very little respect for him.

So, how do you RESPECT someone if they aren’t doing anything to earn it? I know that our marriage won’t be as full as it could be without this missing piece.